A Dangerous Play Thing

In bloom…

When I was a junior in college, I had a meeting with my academic advisor and she pointed out that I had taken so many Women’s Studies courses, that I might as well make it my minor.  This came as a complete surprise to me – I had not realized I’d been choosing so many classes that fell into this category.  I went ahead and made it officially my minor.  From that point on, I became fascinated and in love with women, and what it means to be a woman.  We are truly amazing creatures.  One of my very favorite college courses was a three-hour class that met weekly called “Angels, Monsters, and Anorexics: Women Throughout History.”  The texts we explored opened me up to entirely new levels of appreciated for my sex.  It was empowering.  It was awesome.  It was EMPOWERING (yes, again.) – and not in a bra-burning, man-hating way.  It wasn’t about men at all, actually.    I’d really love to post more often about the fairer sex, and plan on doing so.  I firmly believe women are on our way to taking over the world.  Men are losing their footing – sorry, guys.

So, to kick this off, here are a few quotes that percolate in my brain:

“A true man wants two things: danger and play.  For that reason he wants woman, as the most dangerous play thing.”  – Nietzsche

” I’ve noticed that women who observe things closely seem to make men uneasy.”  – Alberto Manguel, A Reading Diary

…And one I especially loved…

“When I was a student at Cambridge I remember an anthropology professor holding up a picture of a bone with 28 incisions carved in it.  ‘This is often considered to be a man’s first attempt at a calendar,’ she explained.  She paused as we dutifully write this down. ‘My question to you is this – what man needs to mark 28 days?  I would suggest to you that this is woman’s first attempt at a calendar.’ It was a moment that changed my life.  In that second I stopped to question almost everything I had been taught about this past.  How often had I overlooked women’s contributions?”    – Sandi Toksvig

Which speaks to you the most?  Do you have any favorite quotes about women?  If not, I urge you to seek one out….

Leave a Reply

