When Opportunity Knocks

Working in Beverly Hills has allowed for me to meet a lot of really amazing people.  Yes, there is a fair share of the expected snobbery and ridiculous-ness that one would expect, but there are also a boat load of really interesting, influential, dare I say real people.  One of the things I’ve learned from working amongst these people is that none (or very few) of them attains the amount of money they have easily.  They have all worked years for what they’ve accomplished, much like you or I or anyone else for that matter.  The difference is, for whatever reason – be it hard work, knowing the right people, or blind luck – their pathways have led them to money – and lots of it.  But just because someone has insane amounts of money does not mean they are pretentious or that they haven’t worked their asses off for what they have.  (Obviously, I’m stating this knowing that you know there are exceptions to every rule).   Some of the most wealthy people I’ve met are also some of the most “real.”  Whether it’s serving someone who has had more record toppings songs on the radio than I can count on one hand, an uber-famous author, a real estate mogul, or anyone else equally as impressive, one thing is for sure – they’re human after all.  They simply took advantage when the right opportunity came knocking on their door – by putting themselves in the pathway of good fortune.

This is exactly the topic of discussion I had with two “Aussie” gentleman that I had the priviledge of meeting at work last night.  They were incredibly kind, funny, and real.  They encouraged me to try the wine they ordered and then proceeded to teach me amazing things about it (did anyone else know that white wine shouldn’t be truly chilled?  They explained that over chilling a white wine can make a ten dollar bottle and a five hundred dollar bottle taste exactly the same – and this is not a good thing). It was only after their 3rd bottle of expensive wine, that I was able to actually stop long enough to talk to them to hear what they truly had to say.  They’ve made a fortune in the sattelite business (and yes, Google has confirmed this for me as of 8 a.m. this morning – they’re the real deal) and, after inviting me to have breakfast with them this morning at the most ridiculously priced restaraunt in Beverly Hills, we  had a long talk about life and taking advantage when opportunity knocks.  One of the men argued that, yes, I have to work a double at the restaraunt today, but that I should still “play sick,” go to breakfast with them, and they’d in turn give me some help and guidance and possibly a job offer.  He said opportunity was knocking, because we met, and he considered me an intelligent person who has her head on right.  He said that by not showing up for their planned $20,000 breakfast this morning (And, trust me, they were the real deal – they were undoubtedly spending that amount at breakfast.  The difference between meeting them in Beverly Hills and in Nowhereville, America is that in Beverly Hills, they really aren’t full of shit – they really are that rich) I was allowing an opportunity that would only come along once to pass me by.  So, I did what any smart girl would do – I thanked them profusely for the invitation, and told them I had a double to work, and that I couldn’t make it.  I told them that if they wanted to judge my character, they should understand that for me, no matter how small the obligation may seem, I follow through on commitments I keep – even if it’s waiting tables in lieu of attending at $20,ooo breakfast.  They liked that answer a lot.  The more lively of the two (and the highest ranking in the company) gave me his personal business card and told me to e-mail him and said they’d love to find the right place for me.

So, am I going to get a million dollar job offer?  Probably not.  But, I do plan on e-mailing him and letting him know that I’d love to have him as a mentor.

So, when opportunity knocks, go ahead and answer.  But, remember – never compromise your morals or values for that opportunity.  I have a feeling the pay off is much bigger in the end when you stay true to yourself.  Money isn’t real.  It doesn’t last and it can be taken away in the blink of an eye.  If you have poor morals and standards, you’ll be left with only those.  But, if you have high integrity as a human being, well, even without the money – you’ll still be rich.

Until next time,

– A

Leave a Reply

