Gratitude for Every Little Thing

Every hour, magic hour...

Every hour, magic hour…

At this moment, I’m sitting at the coffee shop, completely exhausted from never nursing my jet lag, working non-stop,  and a total lack of sleep…and I’m so filled with happiness.  My life is filled to the brim with abundance.

I never imagined in a million years that my post about my promise to my students’ to meet Drake would reach as far as it did.  Not long after I’d posted the blog and tweeted it to Drake, an article was written about my promise with an excerpt of my writing (and a link to my blog) on Drake’s Official Fan Page. (Read it here)  Since then, my page has recieved thousands of visits from many different people and countries.  People I will probably never meet are Tweeting and re-tweeting my story with words of support.  My friends and family are offering words of encouragement.  And my students…..

Oh, my students.

They are the reason this all began, and without them, I’d never have the inspiration to push myself the way I have.  Their reactions -from frantic disbelieving phone calls, to the sweetest words ever written about me – are the reason I have done this.  As I lay in bed the night before last in the wee hours of the morning, too excited to sleep, tears streamed down my cheeks.  It’s all about them.  All for them.  And the happy tears I cried were tears that came because of the love they’ve shown me.

I don’t know where to go with this feeling, but I do know that I don’t want it to stop.  I want to keep this momentum going and keep spreading my story and my message to kids with less-than-perfect circumstances everywhere.  Actually, why stop with kids…I want to spread my message to everyone. I’ve felt so lost for so long, never sure of where I fit.  This is where I fit.  Now I need to figure out what to do with it. Life is full of infinite possibilities.

Yesterday, I wrote “We are the miracle we’ve been waiting for.”  I believe this to the core.   As a society so filled with negativity and detachment, we’ve been looking for a superhero so save us from ourselves.  But, we are the superheroWe are the solutionWe are the miracle.

I know this post has been a bit rambling, but I’m severely sleep deprived and a bit speechless, to be honest.  But, I’ve learned when we’re left not knowing exactly what to say, it’s important to say something – no matter how small.

So, today I”ll say, THANK YOU.  Thank you for making me feel full again.  I feel so much love around me.  I’ve never done drugs because I already know they can’t come close to beating a natural high, no matter how hard it may be to achieve.  There is nothing that could beat this feeling. This climb has been worth it, and I’ll continue my journey.

I never imagined that the biggest lesson I could teach my students would end up being the biggest lesson I could teach myself.

You ain’t seen nothin’ yet.

 

Peace,

peace,

more peace,

and even more love.

 

 

– Ashley

Leave a Reply

