What is Sunshine Without Rain?

op
Last week I went home to Massachusetts to spend Memorial Day weekend with my family in Maine.  I was there 8 days and it rained every single day with the exception of Memorial Day.  Every. Single. Day.

Now that I’m accustomed the weather in Southern California (i.e. constant sunshine and mild temperature), spending 8 days without sunshine took a toll on me.  Combine the dismal weather with the fact that my emotions were running high due to several different situations, and it made for a long week.

While the trip was flecked with wonderful (fresh Maine lobsters, sunsets, family gatherings, friends, and one sunny day that made all the rain worth it), overall, it was an incredibly difficult week for me.

The last day of my trip, my mom and I had a long talk.  I won’t discuss what it was about, but suffice it to say, we weren’t laughing.  But, after leaving the house for a bit to clear my head, I came home to my mom and hugged her hard.  The conversation that followed went something like this:

Mom: “Get a load of my socks.”

I look down at her socks and notice she’s wearing a completely mismatched pair.  I laughed and dipped my head knowing what I was about to reveal, feeling comfort, closure, love and acceptance.

Me: “Get a load of mine.”

I stooped down, untied, and removed my boots to reveal my own completely mismatched socks.

We documented it as proof:

socks

 

 

It was such an awesome moment that will forever remind me that no matter how much we may seem different, as family, we are deep down so very similar.

I left Massachusetts on a delayed and twice rerouted (of course, due to bad weather) flight out of Boston.   I came back to California with a new appreciation for the constant sunshine.
All it took was a little rain.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

