It’s Been Real, Fro-Yo. It’s Been Real.

Maximum backlight.

Maximum backlight.

Over the past few years, I’ve become increasingly allergic to a variety of things (apples, Splenda (EVIL),  Burt’s Bee’s lip balm, the list goes on…), and it’s led me to really become concerned and aware of the effects the products I use and foods I eat have on my body.  Combined with my new obsession with everything having to do with skin, I’ve realized that many skin issues that I’ve been plagued with also have a huge correlation with the foods I eat. 

After watching a few documentaries (I won’t even get into details there), I cut out meat entirely from my diet about 3 months ago.  I’ve definitely noticed a difference in the way I feel and the way my skin looks.  I’ve even taken photos to prove it.  Kind of like an experiment on myself. I began taking a hair, skin, and nails multi-vitamin, and also use some amazingly fantastic cream on my eyes every night.  The effects have been incredible. 

After lots of reading and studying up on things (here and here are a couple), I’m thinking my newest skin experiment will be eliminating dairy from my diet.  There have been a huge number of studies done on the connection between the consumption of dairy and skin issues like acne and rosacea.  I’d give pretty much anything to just have beautifully even and clear skin.  Oh, to feel like I don’t have to use foundation to make my skin even and cover up marks! Can you even imagine!?!

So, I’m mustering up my guts to give up my obsession with fro-yo and cheese (milk I couldn’t care less about giving up), and will most likely begin my dairy free month next Monday.  I’m going to enjoy all of the cheese and fro-yo I can stand this week just to make sure I’m good and sick of them by the time I let them go! 

 

I’m curious….

Have any of you given up dairy?  What have your results been like?  I hear it also makes digestion amazingly efficient.

Have you given up any other food groups and seen a positive effect on how you feel and look?

2 thoughts on “It’s Been Real, Fro-Yo. It’s Been Real.

  1. I don’t eat red meat at all, and I very rarely consume chicken. I have decreased my dairy dramatically. I have noticed a significant improvement in my digestion and acid reflux! It may be a combination of changes in nutrition and supplements, but I think eliminating or decreasing meat and dairy has a positive effect! Good luck with Fro Yo 🙂

    • I knew I wasn’t imagining it! It seems like everything in my stomach is defffffinitely flowing better and calmer than before I stopped eating meat. I won’t go into details…..buttttttt. You get it! I still eat eggs. I just can’t give them up. But meat was actually much easier than I thought it would be, especially after watching the documentaries I watched. I’ve had so many digestive issues in the past few years, that it’s completely worth it to me to eliminate or drastically decrease certain food groups.

      But fro-yo…..

      my fro-yo……

      sigh.

      Maybe they have a dairy free option? 😉

Leave a Reply

