The Secret to Life

elephant

I have a secret.

And I want to share it with you.

But proceed with caution, because once you know a secret, you can’t un-know it.

You can try to pretend you never heard it, but it’ll always sit there below the surface, bubbling; causing ripples in your life.

This secret is wonderful and terrifying at the same time, because it is the one answer to every question you’re afraid to ask, and you already have all the tools to work with you could ever need…
                               but it involves a tricky little devil with an angels face called free will.

I felt like I should give you fair warning, because what I have to say could drastically change your life.

Picture cannon-balling into a pool. It’s like that.
It creates a real scene.

I know it did (and continues to do so) for me.

If you’re still with me, here goes. Here’s the biggest secret I’ve ever been privy to:

                                     Happiness is a choice.

Yep…that’s it. Read it again, slower this time, and really take it in:
             Happiness
                               is
                                    a
                                       choice.
Horrifying, isn’t it? Magical, too. Because knowing this means that no matter what happens to you, it is still your choice to be happy. It says, “You have no excuse.”

I’ve known a lot of miserable people. I’ve known a lot of happy people. And the funny part is, some of the most miserable people I’ve ever met have far more than some of the happiest people I’ve ever met. And some of the happiest people I know have so very little, but make so very much out of it.

They choose to be happy with what they have.
And you can, too.

Happiness doesn’t happen to you.

You choose it.

If you’re plagued with a constant sense of unhappiness, and you’re waiting for something to happen to you so you’ll finally be happy
the perfect job,
                the perfect partner,
                         a full bank account,
                                        perfect weather,
you may want to re-think things, because you may be sitting in life’s perpetual waiting room.

I dare you to choose to be happy today.

It’s so simple.

All you have to do is say, “That’s it, I’m tired of this…I pick happiness.” And smile. Buy a stranger a coffee. Laugh out loud. Do something childish. Choose to go to work and be thankful that you have a job. Be grateful.
              Look at the world around you with wonder.
                        
Be satisfied with what is in front of you.
                         
Seek knowledge.
              
Ask questions.

Life is always going to be tough, and remaining unhappy by saying “nothing good ever happens to me,” frees you from any responsibility for your own happiness. I dare you to hold yourself accountable and choose happiness.

There you go….
there’s the most amazing thing I’ve ever learned about life. Don’t forget to remind yourself of this secret daily. It’s easy to forget.

Now, love….Pass it on.

2 thoughts on “The Secret to Life

Leave a Reply

