How To: Make Flying (relatively) Painless

via Pinterest

via Pinterest

I hate flying. I’d HONESTLY rather get a root canal than fly. The process is entirely inconvenient, uncomfortable, and all around horrifying. In fact, I’m sitting in a Dallas airport this very minute enduring a 4 hour layover.

Moving to a place that is no less than THREE THOUSAND MILES (WTF) away from my home town was probably not the best decision if I were making it based on conveneience and ease of getting home. But nonetheless, I’ve found myself as far from my home as possible while still staying in the country. I live ON the west coast. My hometown is ON the east coast. There is no simple way to get there…driving is far too time consuming, so that leaves one option: Fly.

I’ve had to make the trip many, many, many times in the past 2.5 years, so I feel like I’m getting pretty good at the entire process and making it as quick and painless as possible.

Here are some of my tips for making it easier:

Check yourself, not your luggage: Buy a sweet little carry on that you love. It’s your new best friend. The best thing I’ve ever done for myself is switch to carry-on only luggage. Checking baggage is for the birds. I work hard for my dinero, so “No, airline, you cannot have my $40.”

Not only does it save you money, it makes checking in and going through security infinitely quicker. Then when you land…you get to LEAVE the airport! Just walk right out! Imagine that! Ahhhhmazing. I refuse to ever check luggage again. Even if I fly out of the country and I’m leaving for a month. Nope. Not doing it. I’ve mastered the art of cramming at least a weeks worth of outfits in a carry on. (possible post on that soon? Let me know if you’d like a tutorial!).

Bring Food: The night before a trip, I go to Whole Foods or Trader Joes and stock up on Lara Bars, Muscle Brownies, Almond Butter Packets, and Balance Bars. This way I don’t have to spend $30 on food once I’m at the airport or waiting for my connecting flight and my stomach is rumbling. This makes eating healthier far easier as well.

Get VERY Organized: There is nothing more frustrating than having to dig through your oversized tote, carry on, backpack or purse for various items…especially when there’s an impatient line of people behind you. I’ve mastered this problem by buying various travel organizers. I have a tiny wallet with a loop on it that I store my ID, cash, debit card, and any other paperwork I may need – This is clipped to my tote.

Inside my tote, I have a fold-up hanging bathroom organizer with toothbrush, toothpaste, chapstick, deoderant, etc. It is invaluable to have access to these things at a moments notice…especially when you land and you don’t want to look like you just rolled out from beneath a dumpster. I could go on, but suffice it to say: EVERYTHING HAS IT’S PLACE. In real life, I am not that organized. When I am traveling, I know where every single item is. It keeps me calm.

Entertain Yourself: I bring three forms of entertainment. This time, they are: My laptop, a book (this one is more of a workbook I’ll tell you about later…it’s AMAZING!), and a Fitness Magazine. I use this time to just be still. It’s normally very hard for me, since in my real life I don’t ever have the opportnity to just sit and relax, so I use this time to just soak up some relaxation and indulge. Also, I fold up a workout resistance band in my carry on as well. This is to make sure wherever I happen to be, I have my gym with me…sitting for long periods is really uncomfortable and often after a flight I just want to sweat.

Wear Layers: When I’m traveling, I always have the same pieces on in some form: A black tank top, black leggings, flat black boots, a very light jacket, a thin sweater, and a thin but huge scarf (serves as a blankie). Keep them in the same color family (in my case, black) and you’ll look put together but comfortable. I refuse to wear my PJ’s to the airport. Not happening.

So, there’s some thoughts from someone who used to be a disaster in the airport. I’ve learned to make things easier on myself, and would love to hear from anyone about what they do to make travel easier / more enjoyable!

– A

Leave a Reply

